Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to keep track of number of firings?

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

How to keep track of number of firings?

Loading for AR, I use once fired brass, load it four more times, and then scrap it.

How to keep track of the number of firings? Soon you have a pile of twice fired, four times fired, etc. How do y'all keep track?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Don't reload but I've read people use markers. 1 line/ring/notch = 1 reload, 2 lines/rings/notches = 2 reloads...etc..

Or change colors or add colors. Whatever makes more sense to you

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    It's easy. Keep brass separated in coffee cans, boxes, whatever and track how many times brass in each container has been fired. I've been doing this for over 35 years with 30-06 brass, 7.62x51mm brass, etc.

If you are training at the range by yourself, police the area you are going to shoot in before sending rounds down range. Only collect brass known to you.

When in doubt, throw it out.
    Train 2 Win

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    I keep everything in 50 or 100 round lots. These are kept together and therefore number of reloads can be tracked. This is also facilitated by the use of a brass catcher.

Honestly the big motivation for me keeping them separate is avoiding trimming. If I keep my brass separate, generally cases can go 3-4 firings without trimming. This really cuts down on labor. I HATE trimming.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I don't. I just visually inspect and cull when needed.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Uni-Vibe View Post
    How to keep track of the number of firings? Soon you have a pile of twice fired, four times fired, etc. How do y'all keep track?