Thread: H335 pressure spike info

Feedback Score

H335 pressure spike info

Hello,I have been reloading for about 3 years now and I have settled on h335 powder for my .223 powder (mainly because it is available locally and my carbines liked it from the start,so why knock a good thing).
    I have read it has a tendency to pressure spike when it's hot?my pet load is 24.5 grains of h335 with hornady 55gr fmjbt @ 2.250",they average about 2,900 fps.
    What I am concerned about is I use mixed brass,so I assume the internal volume will differ from one manufacturer to the next(not sure it's enough to matter?)
    Does this seem safe to you guys with more seasons than me?
    Thanks

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    I am not sure of that actual load (would have to do some research) but I've used a lot of surplus powder which is the same as H335 but not canister grade. I've shot it with mixed surplus brass and never had a problem in any sort of normal temperature conditions. Just make sure you are not pushing the load in the first place.

(I just looked online to see what other people are doing and saw up to 25+ grains with no issues, with 24.5/6/7 as a starting point to work up, so I would not sweat it as long as you are consistent in your powder drops).
    • formerly known as "eguns-com"
    • M4Carbine required notice/disclaimer: I run eguns.com
    •eguns.com has not been actively promoted in a long time though I still do Dillon special
    orders, etc. and I have random left over inventory.
    •"eguns.com" domain name for sale (not the webstore). Serious enquiries only.

Feedback Score
    The vast majority of .223/5.56 cases are very close in capacity, I load 25.0 grains of H335 with a 55 grain fmjbt in Lake City cases and according to Quickload it is slightly below 50,000 psi.

If I loaded the same amount of 25.0 grains of H335 in the "old Lapua" case with 28.0 capacity it would raise the chamber pressure 6,000 psi and the chamber pressure to 55,000 psi.