Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A few months with a Surefire Stiletto

Feedback Score
    30 (100%)

A few months with a Surefire Stiletto

I’ve been EDCing a Surefire Stiletto for a few months now, and using it frequently at work. This light is rechargeable, has a non-cylindrical shape, and comes with a clip. It charges via mini-USB, and comes with a high quality charger. It has two activation buttons and is programmable.

In default mode, the button on the side cycles constant low-med-high, and the tailcap button is momentary high-strobe. In mode 2, you get constant high-med-low and constant high. In use, it is a very handy light, that I would consider to be more utility oriented than tactical. It has lots of spill and little throw.

Battery life has been very good, and you never have to wonder about the battery level, because it has a charge level indicator light, green, yellow, red. Just turn it on every morning during your PCI/PCC routine.

It can be clipped to the bill of a hat. The plastic body can be held in your teeth without buying your dentist a new Benz. You can also put it inside a roll of medical tape on a table facing the ceiling and illuminate a room well enough to work. It is similar in size to a G19 mag or multitool, and can be carried in many already available pouches.

Now for the downside. That “HOT SURFACE” warning on the aluminum head is not kidding. The side button is very easily activated unintentionally. I have burned my leg while carrying it both in my “hands-in-pockets” pocket and in a cargo pocket. I have also melted a cigarette sized hole in a shirt while carrying it on my belt, and of course, burned myself. This light is probably best carried in kydex, which will reduce its utility somewhat. I may use epoxy to make a fence around the button.

https://imgur.com/a/8hhD0m3
    RLTW

“What’s New” button, but without GD: https://www.m4carbine.net/search.php...new&exclude=60 , courtesy of ST911.