Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Colt listened to the retarded whining on forums - NIB 6920 Unboxing

Feedback Score
    43 (100%)

Colt listened to the retarded whining on forums - NIB 6920 Unboxing

I did something I’ve never done before - I actually finger ****ed a Colt 6920 (OEM 1) looking for things I only ever hear about on the internet. Markings, finish, serial number prefix, rollmark quality (seriously wtf guys), etc. You know, all the stuff that doesn’t matter at all.

There have been conversations on this forum about markings missing, and what this does to resale value. IE if the upper or BCG is not marked how do people know you’re really selling a Colt upper and not another forged upper from somebody else.

It looks like they have “corrected” this.

As far as I’m concerned - you buy a 6920 because you want to beat the hell out of it. If you want something more accurate or fancier you buy a custom config from one of the quality boutique companies. If you want something that will get the job done for the best price - you buy a Colt.

Anyway, here you guys go. I’m not really into what Colt does and doesn’t do with markings. I’ll point out what I think is interesting and welcome your comments.

Rifle was bought brand new last week.

Box label:

Rifle as packaged. Keep in mind, it came with no hand guards, Buttstock, trigger guard, rear sight, or sling. I added those as I unboxed the rifle.

Serial number prefix is “CR”. Rollmark looks pristine. Rifle is covered in preservative. Safety selector switch operates firmly but smoothly.

Cage code is laser etched into the upper. Presumably too many “omg where did the “C” go?!? Complaints.

B marked Front Sight

Cage code and MP markings on barrel

Buffer was a little unusual. Looks like a super faint “H” was stamped but I weighed it just to be sure. 3 3/4 oz is in line with a correct H buffer weight.

Laser etched “C” in the BCG (for comparison my older LE prefix 6920s have C stamped into the upper and BCG)