Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: More Threatening Red Flag Law Activity

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score
    94 (100%)

More Threatening Red Flag Law Activity

Family filed civil suit under Indiana's Red Flag law.

https://www.nbcchicago.com/news/loca...558747311.html

Thanks pstk5088 for the heads up on this.
    "Texas has yet to learn submission to any oppression, come from what source it may."
    ~ Sam Houston

“The liberties of our country, the freedom of our civil constitution, are worth defending against all hazards: And it is our duty to defend them against all attacks.”
    ~ Sam Adams

Feedback Score
    Really interesting. I don't see how it can hold up in court, and if it did I don't know why the red flag law would be part of it. That is my major issue with red flag laws- we already have laws that deal with demented and violent people. Maybe the red flag laws make it more streamlined to address them, but the inherent legal structure is there.

Now this interpretation of the Red Flag law is interesting. It seems that any level of culpability would have some kind of legal exposure under existing laws, unless there is something explicitly in the red flag law saying that people have to act. I haven't heard of any 'requirement to report under penalty' in any of these laws. I'm guessing that the laws would be a lot less unpopular if for every shooter that gets caught, people are being hauled before a court about what they knew and when.

Here's hoping that it gets thrown out quick. Let's see if this kind of culpability ends up in newer versions.

Why stop at gun violence? Why not child molesters? Why not hold your cell phone company culpable for letting phones work at highway speeds? Let G-ma drive and she kills someone, off you go. Hell, why do cars have to go faster than the speed limit- the car makers could fight that?