Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bringing my patrol rifle into the 21st Century

Feedback Score
    60 (100%)

Bringing my patrol rifle into the 21st Century

I'm a patrol cop, not SWAT or anything special. My rifle gets pulled from the rack in my truck a few times a week for high risk calls, possible active shooters, etc. I'm a gear junkie thought, always have been. I like to have nice things that I can rely on.

I started out as a cop with a 6920. Shortly after, my agency mandated that all rifles must be suppressed, and therefore all barrels had to be under 12.5". They provided each vehicle (shared trucks and SUV's) with FN SBR's w/MI MLOK Rails, SIG Cans, and Aimpoint PROs. This was awesome for most, but I'm the kind of guy who likes to know exactly where my round is going to impact, how it was zeroed and maintained, etc. While those carbines are okay and have been proven to be reliable, they sport Uncle Mike's single point slings. Those slings are trash, and the single point causes you to be burned by the suppressors, hit in the nuts, and makes going hands on with suspects damn near impossible. So, I put the 6920 in the safe and bought a 6933 and a Silencerco Saker. Hearing bad things about the ASR mount (I got the can new for $580), I bought a bunch of Dead Air FH and brakes and a Key Mo mount for it.

The 6933 was a great gun. Small, super reliable, and tough as nails. I put a KAC RAS on it, Surefire Scout, Scalarworks PEAK sight, and a Comp M5 (later upgraded to a T2 when the Comp M5 died).

But, recently, after my Saker came in and I put it on the end of the 6933, I realized that it was a tank. Very front heavy. Also, as a "C Clamp" shooter, I had been struggling with the short length of the KAC RAS. So, I went searching for a better alternative.