Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: How resistant to losing zero is an Aimpoint supposed to be?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    779
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    I had issues with the QRP mount on a PRO coming loose during shooting. I read some recommendations to just bear down on the knob and force it to go tighter than the torque click-off naturally would go. That helped a bit, but in my opinion it's just a bandaid and not acceptable for an optic mount.

    I think the PRO itself is a fine optic when mated to another mount (Geissele, ADM, etc.). It is, however, unnecessarily large for what it is these days.



    Also -

    Quote Originally Posted by jsbhike View Post
    Henry Standing Bear virus. No contractions allowed.
    LOL. Zing.
    Last edited by grizzlyblake; 09-17-19 at 05:56.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Herndon,VA
    Posts
    950
    Feedback Score
    11 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Circle_10 View Post
    Have you experienced losses of zero due to impacts, drops, riding around in a cruiser etc.. on the PROs at your job?
    Nothing that I have noticed. I run quals most days of the week and we have a mix of mostly Eotechs and 50 Aimpoint pro's. I would say the optics get more abuse in the racks in the station being banged around at shift change more than the 6 foot drop test. I haven't seen any massive shifts from duty use. I would say considering the average officer's skill at our 100 yard qual course, I wouldn't really notice 3 clicks David

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Urban Cessmaze
    Posts
    3,964
    Feedback Score
    25 (100%)
    Break a Grant for a DECENT mount. ANY mount NOT named "QRP" will be an improvement.
    - Either you're part of the problem or you're part of the solution or you're just part of the landscape - Sam (Robert DeNiro) in, "Ronin" -

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,709
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by dwhitehorne View Post
    I would say considering the average officer's skill at our 100 yard qual course, I wouldn't really notice 3 clicks David
    I'm actually a fair bit more accurate at 100yds with irons than I am with an Aimpoint, but also slower, hence why even though I tend to use a 100 yard zero I generally start zeroing an Aimpoint at 50yards, get it hitting consistently a bit low on a 3" bullseye then check it at 100 to make sure the groups are landing be where I want them.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    27,030
    Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Good grief... My house gun was leaning on my bed this morning, and I heard something fall over from the kitchen. Walked in and my carbine had fallen over on the thick area rug. (was leaning muzzle up and sideways, and fell optic first.... knocked out of zero again. Not as bad as last time, but definitely out of zero compared to the FSB and Carry handle cut down Irons.

    I'm tempted to buy another mount and do the rug drop test again.
    "You people have too much time on your hands." - scottryan

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    304
    Feedback Score
    0
    Spuhr is known to make the strongest Aimpoint mount, period. Just get the non-QD version.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,709
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by mebiuspower View Post
    Spuhr is known to make the strongest Aimpoint mount, period. Just get the non-QD version.
    I may try another mount for my PROs at some point, im only seeing mounts for the Micros on the Spuhr site.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3,730
    Feedback Score
    11 (100%)
    Geissele and ADM make some good mounts. Never had an issue with either. Also look at reptilia, although they only make Micros right now.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,820
    Feedback Score
    22 (100%)
    I threw my carbine with an Aimpoint H-1 on a DD mount from the 2nd story onto a wooden deck, about a 10 foot drop. Guess what, it was still zeroed when I checked it.

    Stop being poor and buy good mounts.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    6,144
    Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    It sucks but mounts are critical, I have a Brobo on mine. Mount cost about as much as RDS. Have not drop tested mine.

    PB
    "Air Force / Policeman / Fireman / Man of God / Friend of mine / R.I.P. Steve Lamy"

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •