Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best for 15-year-old -- single or double?

Feedback Score

Best for 15-year-old -- single or double?

Debating on what to get the youngster for range practice...decided on a revolver, but debating on which one.

Any thoughts on Rough Rider as a first pistol?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    If you can find a Ruger Bearcat that would be my choice.

Feedback Score
    46 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by MAUSER88 View Post
    If you can find a Ruger Bearcat that would be my choice.
    Agreed, or a used Single Six.

Feedback Score
    If he's a total beginner, go with single action. If he's already familiar with guns and safety, go ahead with the double action so he can start building up the strength to use it.

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    I was never a Blackhawk fan for decades.

But I have come around and think of 357 Blackhawk he is a very economical and solid first pistol.

You can shoot downloaded 38 special with virtually no recoil, but then as interest and strength increases shoot full House 357.

Excellent trigger, excellent customer service, just a solid all-around pistol.

My son was college-aged, so I found him a homely one in 41 mag for Christmas one year and it is a favorite at the shooting range. He has also taken quite a bit of large game with it.

Straight wall revolvers are also an excellent introduction to reloading.

As a kid I banged out hundreds of rounds of 38 / 357 with a Lee loader and dippers.

Feedback Score
    I say single/double.

Single action, and especially typical single-action loading, gets boring in a hurry.

Its good enough your starting him on a revolver.

Weak .38 should be okay for a 15 yo.
    .22 would be better and cheaper although their DA triggers are normally heavier.

A .327 mag or .32 mag would be the best but most expensive option. The .327 can shoot five cartridges, the .32 H&R mag four. Both often work fine with .32 acp, too.

Feedback Score