Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: FFP training rifle scopes?

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

FFP training rifle scopes?

I work in the hunting industry out west and have only bowhunted until two years ago when my wife started rifle hunting. We are both very proficient with firearms from pistols to patrol rifles (prior careers) to our hunting bolt actions. Our current elk rifles have Leupold CDS vx3is and are adequate to the limitations we have imposed on ourselves for shooting at elk (7-08@300yds 30-06@500yds). All of that adds up to zero experience "dialing".

We are enjoying our time spent shooting longer distances. We have realized the benefits of learning a system, MRAD seems to be it, and how much more versatility that knowledge would bring over a one and done CDS.

I would like to find out what others have experienced for reliable FFP scopes that are pretty basic? I am hoping $1000 or less can acquire a scope that can track, retain zero, and repeat everything reliably is possible. Those are my only real needs; I don't care about illumination, fancy reticles, "great glass", etc. The Nikon FX1000 4-16 SEEMS perfectly basic for what I want, but I only have experience with their rangefinders, and am unsure of what else is out there.

This would either go on a dedicated .223 bolt gun like a Tikka or Weatherby Vanguard or Ruger American, or get setup on one of our patrol rifles. It would be used to learn the system on the cheaper to fire rifles, and then after competence, additional scopes bought and put on our current or new elk guns.

Thank you for any suggestions.

Feedback Score
    9 (91%)
    You might want to look into the SWFA scopes. Great everything at a good price. Primary Arms are pretty decent too and affordable.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)