Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New here and newbie question! (needs optic for a LE6920)

Feedback Score

New here and newbie question! (needs optic for a LE6920)

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum, I have a Colt LE6920 Socom 16" barrel with the KAC rails! I havent shot a AR since my military days in the 80's I was a military cop and we had the left over M16's from the Vietnam war I suppose!

I will be practicing with my Colt to get back in sync!

I would like a good scope for close quarters and maybe 100-200 yards! I am looking at the Steiner p4xi 1-4, AimPoint Pro, I do like the sights on the Steiner!

Question what would be a good mount for either, the thing is the Colt has the fixed front sight and have no clue on optics being never had one being then we only used fixed Iron sights! When I looked at mounts they have so many variations, I believe the I would need a 30m mount? but as for height I have no clue and with the fixed front sight on the Colt do I need to get a certain height and will the fixed sight hamper looking through the scope! Sorry for dumb questions but look to you pro's for advice!

Thanks all!

San Antonio Texas here!

Feedback Score
    30 (100%)
    The Aimpoint PRO and Steiner P4Xi are both good choices for a general use carbine. I would suggest that you look through a PRO before you buy because, like most other red dots, astigmatism can be a problem. The Steiner shouldn’t have that issue because the dot is the tip of an optical fiber. The P4Xi has an excellent reticle that is auto ranging and matches the flight of 68/69gr 5.56 closely to 600yds with a 16” barrel. The PRO’s strong suit is being able to be left turned on all the time, so it might be a better choice for home defense.