Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turkey Hunting Tips, Tricks, Advice

Feedback Score

Turkey Hunting Tips, Tricks, Advice

I am going on my first turkey hunt sometime in October. I will be hunting in New Mexico. Since it is my first time I really have no idea what I am doing.
    I am going to get a book. I am going with 2 friends. We are thinking about hiring a guide to show us the ropes.
    Do you all have any advice for this first timer? Due to a physical disability I will have to use a 20ga, as I can’t safely fire a 12ga.
    Thanks!

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)
    Get a guide if you don't know the area. This will save time on scouting and create a higher possibility for a successful hunt.

Pattern your gun and find your max distance. I consider max distance to be when there are a few turkey head sized gaps in the pattern.

Turkey should be shot in the head for a humane kill. Poofing feathers on a wounded turkey that is running away is no fun for anyone.

My favorite part of turkey hunting is hearing them come down from a roost. It's a sound of semi-controlled chaos, sticks breaking and big wings moving air.

I'm a dork like that though. I can get just as much gratification from any hunt by just watching nature do nature stuff and never firing a shot.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Not sure if it is the same out west as in the east, but red, white, or blue colors on clothing or gear here is an extremely bad idea if turkey hunters are about.

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    There is no such thing as wearing too much camo when hunting turkeys of course if orange is required wear it. Box calls are the easiest to pick up and use, the next being slate and diaphragm being the hardest. So pick up a call and start practicing, staying together is best one can call and the other shoot and then swap also more eyes is better turkeys are sneaky. Most of all be patient and take your time, they see extremely well and will spook quick.

Feedback Score
    11 (100%)