Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Finally Earned My Shirt @ The Tactical Games

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

Finally Earned My Shirt @ The Tactical Games

2021 update below original post.

Been debating as to post this or not. I figured someone may find it helpful to prepare if they are interested.

Pride took a hit but I'll learn from it. I actually teared up as we drove off. I said "I can't quit" and went to turn around. My wife was a voice of reason and I will be better prepared for next year.

To say I underestimated this match would be fair. I had been jogging with 25 lbs for 4 months. I added reps to all my normal jazz. Not near enough. I should have been jogging at 100 lbs over to feel lighter at the match.

I survived stage one but timed out. I couldn't get my feet to cooperate on a rope climb about a third of the way through Stage 2. Decided to muscle my way up and stalled out about 6 inches from the top.

The staff and RO's were awesome. They offered me a move from "Elite" to an "Intermediate" slot but I was done.

50% overweight cardio would be a good place to train for this monster. Much respect for the guys who finished. I'll come back better prepared.

Well, ask away or offer advice.

Update, March 2021

Got that shirt.

We had 7 stages spread over two days. The "Masters" division was changed from 45+ years old to a 40-49 group and a 50+ group. I was in the 40-49 group. We had the same COF and work load as the "Intermediate" division. There were some instances where Intermediate was allowed to use props as firing support but Masters had to fire offhand.