Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Comms

Feedback Score

New to Comms

So I am interested in acquiring some comms for me and my family that will be able to be mounted onto plate carriers. After digging through some information on here, it seems like some of the HAM stuff is the way to go but apparently one needs a license for these? I guess all I need is something that can be mounted on my plate carrier, as well as maybe half a dozen other guys armor, and be able to communicate over just a few miles. Any feedback on this would be greatly appreciated, I am new to this subject but just need to be able to communicate with a few family members over a few miles reliably. Thank you.

Feedback Score
    Fieldcraft survival did a video and podcast on this subject and would be a great place to start.

https://youtu.be/EwfQ-Zd5-0c

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
    Last edited by omegajb; 03-27-20 at 18:17.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    The ham amateur license is pretty easy to get and offers you a whole new level of communication options. With that said, most of the semi-cheesy frs/gmrs radios are good enough for family comms and hunting stuff. I haven’t bought any in a while but they usually have a setting that would technically require a license but nobody seems to care.

If you step up your game to ham level, then you gain access to repeaters. In my area there are several repeaters on several high locations. Some are run by our local amateur radio club and are very sophisticated, others are owned by individuals, and have varying levels of usefulness. Many of them have solar and battery backups and will keep running in a lot of eotwawki situations.

Don’t buy a ham radio and start d!cking around on the frequencies without a license- there are many self-appointed guards of the frequencies that WILL locate you and send off complaints to FTC LE about you. They are crazy about it in my AO..

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)