Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Interesting optic failure - RMR

Feedback Score
    53 (100%)

Interesting optic failure - RMR

I had an interesting equipment failure today.

This Glock 19 has a Type 1 RM09 that was installed in November 2016. Estimated round count is in the neighborhood of 20k. I have never had any problems with this optic, no issues with the dot flickering/loss of battery contact/nada. I don't do anything like intentionally rack my optic on hard surfaces to cycle the slide, and it has lived its life in a holster.

Today, I started shooting at 0915. Temp is mid-90s, humidity is 50% with clear skies. After a lunch break, I went back to shooting and noticed I had a giant, basketball sized dot in the middle of a course of fire. Thought nothing of it, broke the shot, and the dot disappeared completely after that. I thought it was an electronics failure, and kept shooting with the irons. After two more shots, the glass flew off the front of the RMR and went downrange.

It appears the adhesive for the glass has simply worn out. Yes, I've contacted Trijicon and am in the process of receiving an RMA. I'm sure that part will take care of itself, so no worries there.

But has anyone else actually had the entire glass window come off of an RMR? I've seen electronics die, I've seen UTM rounds crack the glass, and I've seen someone strike an RMR against a metal staircase and crack it. But I've never seen or ever had any other RMR have the glass completely remove itself.

And yes- I contemplated just using some 2-part epoxy and seating the glass myself. But I will gladly use an official warranty repair whenever possible.

Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Bravo sir. Bravo indeed.