Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ATEi slide cut for Aimpoint ACRO P-1 and Glock 19X (pics)

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

Cool ATEi slide cut for Aimpoint ACRO P-1 and Glock 19X (pics)

Though I'd share a recent project that was just completed.

Getting some training with pistol mounted red dot sights (RDS) has really opened my eyes to the potential capability expansion of this technology.

I'm not an expert by far but....from what I can observe:

-Red dots have the potential to be faster on target than traditional iron sights.
    -They are faster on moving targets.
    -They are superior under low light conditions.
    -They are fantastic under no light conditions with white light.
    -They will blow your mind under NODS.
    -Vision ain't what it used to be? RDS's are great for bump in the night/night stand guns when you don't have time to don your glasses.

This will sound familiar if you use RDS' on carbines.

That said, these require an investment in hardware, gun smithing, and training. With respect to the latter, this novel technology requires re-training presentation of the gun to acquire the dot. I won't delve into this, but others like Don Edwards of Greenline Tactical, Scott Jedlinski of Modern Samurai Project, and Chuck Pressburg of Presscheck Consulting can clue you in in that regard.

There are lots of pistol mounted optics to choose from. With respect to duty grade optics, two platforms stand out - Trijicon RMR and Aimpoint ACRO P-1.

They each have their pros and cons.

The Trijicon RMR has long battery life (almost a year) but has to be removed from the slide for battery changes (necessitating re-zeroing). It is an open design that requires a sealing plate. It's (vertically) screw-mounted.

The Aimpoint ACRO P-1 has comparatively shorter battery life (measured in weeks) but the battery is changed without removing the unit. It is a sealed design that uses one horizontal screw that essentially fastens to a rail.