Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 10mm 1911s - Dan Wesson or Springfield

Feedback Score
    12 (100%)

10mm 1911s - Dan Wesson or Springfield

Looking for feedback from owners. I'm at the point where I'm buying guns that I don't need with justifications that will probably never manifest. So, obviously, it's time to get a 10mm 1911. I have a lot of experience with .45 1911s, but zero experience with 10mm in any platform.

Since this will mainly be a range toy, and perhaps a hog gun if I ever get around to actually that, which is your preference? I'm close to purchasing my first Dan Wesson, in 9mm, and I've read nothing but good feedback about them. I also like the looks of the Springfield RO Elite and TRP and the ability to mount a light, but my experience with SA has been mixed - the standout being a regular TRP about 10 years ago.

Thoughts? What is the 10mm like compared to .45 out of a 1911?

Feedback Score
    16 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by sundance435 View Post
    Looking for feedback from owners. I'm at the point where I'm buying guns that I don't need with justifications that will probably never manifest. So, obviously, it's time to get a 10mm 1911. I have a lot of experience with .45 1911s, but zero experience with 10mm in any platform.

Since this will mainly be a range toy, and perhaps a hog gun if I ever get around to actually that, which is your preference? I'm close to purchasing my first Dan Wesson, in 9mm, and I've read nothing but good feedback about them. I also like the looks of the Springfield RO Elite and TRP and the ability to mount a light, but my experience with SA has been mixed - the standout being a regular TRP about 10 years ago.

Thoughts? What is the 10mm like compared to .45 out of a 1911?
    Well you're not gonna go wrong with either one to be fair. I'd tend towards the DW myself, having one already that's my all time favorite handgun, but a Springer would be just fine for the right deal.