Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Do You Guys Think of 22 Magnum?

Feedback Score

What Do You Guys Think of 22 Magnum?

I am shopping for a hand gun. With the ammo shortage as it is maybe the thing to do is reverse engineer the gun starting with ammo and ammo availability. There are lots of videos and ads out there for cool looking plastic handguns using 22 magnum. What is the deal on 22 magnum for self defense purposes? Does it have enough stopping power. As a complete novice to hand guns I was told I need at least 38 caliber in a self-defense weapon but these 22 magnum rounds at least LOOK impressive. What is the real deal?

Feedback Score
    It is below the minimum standard but I have carried a pair of North American Arms revolvers this week.

They meet the minimum standard for penetration.

Rimfire can be less reliable in my experience making me hesitate in a semiautomatic.

That Keltec pistol looks fun to experiment with but if I’m carrying something of that size, I’d be carrying a larger caliber, anyways,

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Feedback Score
    30 (100%)
    .22 Magnum out of a handgun has never impressed me much, a longer rifle barrel fits the cartridge better, IMO.

Stopping power really isn't a thing. What you want is a combination of expansion and penetration. The Speer Gold Dot .22 mag round (30 grain, as I recall) seems to meet the minimum requirements.

In general, a properly constructed bullet in 9mm or .38 Special is the most commonly recommended starting point. I have no experience with the .380 but there seems to be enough quality self defense rounds available that it may be GTG as well.

My .02

Feedback Score
    19 (100%)
    22 magnum from a handgun is about equivalent to HV 22 LR from a rifle. It would be pretty far down my list of defensive firearms.

Andy

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)