Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking at gun in holster

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)

Looking at gun in holster

Anyone look at their pistol standing at the line after making ready? I've seen a few guys do it over the years, never gave it much thought. Then it just sort of popped into my mind Monday while dry firing. I tried it and it seems to speed up the draw and diminish drawing flubbs. Dont think I'll try it this Sat yet at the local USPSA. Any thoughts?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I can see how it would be an advantage for speed in competition, but also a negative habit that would carry over if ever used in the field.

Feedback Score
    It might speed the draw, but then slow target acquisition... as mentioned in real life it would be a detriment.

A better plan would be to practice your draw so that you don't have to look at your gun to know where it is.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Feedback Score
    Anyone look at their pistol standing at the line after making ready? I've seen a few guys do it over the years, never gave it much thought. Then it just sort of popped into my mind Monday while dry firing. And if you need to find good lender feel free to check out https://loanwinners.com/ for some info and tips I tried it and it seems to speed up the draw and diminish drawing flubbs. Dont think I'll try it this Sat yet at the local USPSA. Any thoughts?
    I believe that if you do it million times over and over again your muscle memory will step in
    I never saw any of my instructors do that and they all were soldiers back in the day so maybe only amateurs or people that are still learning do that
    Last edited by samll; 01-07-21 at 06:18.

Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    This is the competitive shooting forum. It's not the "get you killed on the streets" or "face shooters don't do that" forum.