Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Training Suggestions?

Feedback Score

Training Suggestions?

Has anybody heard of or taken courses from any of these vendors:

https://www.patc.com/courses/investi...tective5.shtml
    https://www.profirsttraining.com/new...tigator-course

Any other suggestions for a "new detective" class?

Scheduled right now I have...

Trauma Management: Found one that includes everything (Stop the Bleed + First-Aid + CPR + AED) plus TECC-LEO in 16 hours
    https://www.alphadefensegroup.com/cr...st-aid-cpr-aed

Professional Development: Advanced SRO Class by NASRO
    https://www.nasro.org/clientuploads/...OBJECTIVES.pdf

Cross posted from the LEO forum, interested in different perspectives:

Each year, in addition to any department-mandated training, I try to get training in each of the following categories:

Firearms
    Crisis Intervention
    Trauma Management
    EVOC
    Other/ Professional Development

I'm a School Resource Officer in a very small department: 5 patrol officers, a chief, a civilian administrator and me. I can only attend training, or take time off, when school isn't in session. I'm also the department's "training coordinator" so I manage and coordinate the training for the department, and make recommendations to the Chief whether to accept a course or not (Colorado doesn't have state-level approval of most police training courses, they are approved, or not, by individual departments).

A long time ago, before the Army and long before I was a cop I was an EMT/Firefighter... back when EMTs were the thing and almost nobody had Paramedics... so emergency medical has always been an interest, and also sometimes comes in handy. Working almost exclusively in schools I get funneled a lot of youth mental health stuff... legally I'm the only person "in" the school district who can actually mandate a 72 hour mental health hold: school counselors can't, school psychologists can't.. so they call me.