Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Marlin 336 magazine tube issue

Feedback Score

Marlin 336 magazine tube issue

Hi all Im new to lever action rifles and need some help.
    I recently purchased a 1970 336 in 35 Remington.
    I had a post previously about getting ammo and was able to get some. I haven't shot it yet but when I loaded it a few times the ammo wouldn't cycle, it occasionally gets stuck in the magazine tube and won't feed into the chamber. The ammo I'm using is Hornady Leverevelotion. I'm wondering if it's the ammo and the flex tip is causing the issue. Any thoughts?
    ”Congress have no power to disarm the militia. Their swords, and every other terrible implement of the soldier, are the birthright of an American… The unlimited power of the sword is not in the hands of either the federal or state government, but, where I trust in God it will ever remain, in the hands of the people”
    ~Tench Coxe

Feedback Score
    Have you cleaned and lubed the magazine tube yet? I recommend treating the magazine tube the same way you treat the barrel bore. After 50 years it could be kind of dry in there, and dry metal rubbing on dry metal...I speak as owner of a 70 year old Marlin 39A.
    Last edited by Rascally; 02-24-21 at 22:56.
    Rascal

"In every generation there are those who want to rule well - but they mean to rule. They promise to be good masters - but they mean to be masters." — Daniel Webster

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Rascally View Post
    Have you cleaned and lubed the magazine tube yet? I recommend treating the magazine tube the same way you treat the barrel bore. After 50 years it could be kind of dry in there, and dry metal rubbing on dry metal...I speak as owner of a 70 year old Marlin 39A.
    No haven't done that yet I'll definitely give it a try.