Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Magazine Springs

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

Magazine Springs

You frequently see it said that a spring doesn't lose tension if it's merely left loaded, but wears out from the shooting.

There are too many anecdotes that affirm this, to just dismiss it. But I have had some recent experience.

1. I bought a Smith M&P40 cheap a few months ago. It was a police trade in and came with two magazines, papers, plastic case, etc. The two mags were the old style blued ones with the old style baseplates. They were almost immaculate. A bit dusty from shooting, but the bodies showed virtually no insertion wear, and no wear from carrying in the mag holder.

But the springs were weakened. One felt weak to push on with a finger, and it failed to hold the slide open 100% of the time. The other would hold the slide open, but it too felt weak to push on. I replaced both with Wolff and cured the problem; both were 100% functional.

2. I got a brand new Ruger .380 LCP about 3 years ago, for carry when doing athletic things. I test fired about 200 rounds, cleaned it. I Loaded six in the mag and let it sit. I recently took it to the range and shot it. It fed 100% but also failed to hold the slide open. Another trip to Wolff and the problem was cured.

So in these two examples, one of which I saw the whole process, apparently leaving them loaded took some of the push out of the spring.

So I think this: If you rely on a gun to save your hide, it wouldn't hurt to visit Wolff and every few years, spend six bucks and replace a magazine spring.
    Last edited by Uni-Vibe; 02-26-21 at 21:25.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    I always keep extra mag springs just in case and when I buy a used gun, always replace the mag spring if they feel weak. I ran into this on a Sig M11A1. I keep 3 to 4 loaded mags for my EDC Glock with no issues, but you bring up a good point

Nothing but good experiences with Wolff Springs

Feedback Score
    9 (100%)