Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for quality helmet. Prefer Made in USA

Feedback Score

Looking for quality helmet. Prefer Made in USA

Budget is around $1k. I’m coming from a Protech Delta 4 mid cut. It did its job and is out of service. The purpose is for LE Patrol use. I would like rails, decent pad system and Velcro on it.

Looking at the Gentex Sentry series. The LE and XP. Anyone know the big difference between the two?

Also maybe the Crye Airframe series.

Fixing to call Safariland/Protech because I’m not seeing any Delta series available anywhere. I’m not necessarily against another Delta 4 or maybe the Delta 5.

Appreciate any helpful comments. Maybe even if a rep or two would chime in.

Feedback Score
    88 (100%)
    I have some experience with the Gentex TBH-IIIA, older Ops Core Fast, and Airframe. Of those, the Airframe was definitely the lightest and most comfortable to wear but I couldn’t get it to fit with my Peltors in a way that I liked. I liked how it sat on my head until I put Peltors underneath because it was too low and would ride on top of the ear cups. I didn’t want to put thicker pads in because then would stand off of my head further than I wanted so between that and the overlapping shell making it difficult to arrange pads, I sold it. I also wasn’t a huge fan of how it came with shit pads, no NVG mount, a basic chinstrap, and the rails aren’t useful behind the bend (I wanted to get AMPs and mount them at some point). But, it was definitely the lightest and coolest (temp wise) of the ones I’ve used.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Sic semper tyrannis.

Feedback Score
    52 (100%)
    On the Airframe; a friend who was issued them years ago told me they had issues with them deforming from being stored in connex's in the heat. That alone makes me a little hesitant to spend my own money on a lid that would likely live in a trunk. His unit now issues some flavor of Ops Core helmet.