Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DMR type optic advice

Feedback Score

DMR type optic advice

Greetings,

i'm putting together a 5.56mm build with an 18" (actually 17.7" BA barrel) with a focus on shooting to a max of 600 yards. Mostly for fun, but would like to use in a class as well. I'm just getting into the long(er) range type shooting, and have aspirations for getting into some kind of competition featuring longer range shooting.

I'm struggling with the optic. My budget max is $1k. I recently picked up a Delta Stryker 1x6 for the general purpose gun I have. I like this optic a lot, but for the new build, want something with more magnification.

I don't know, but I'm guessing, something non LPVO'ish would be a better choice here? Something with a larger diameter objective lens would be better? Not as concerned with getting a low end magnification of 1x. I can always get an MRDS. I'd be good with a 2-4x low end, and topping out between 10-16x. Ideally, a 2-12 would be perfect, but I'm not seeing many options that fit the total package.

Key criteria are FFP, a good reticle for quick ranging/wind, low weight and a decent eye box/FOV. Illumination of daylight bright would be preferred, but I think that's a tall order for my budget. Daylight visible would work.

Of the reticles I've seen (only in pics and not in real life), the Primary Arms Griffin is leading the top of the list. It seems like it would work well for quick acquisition with ranging/wind. I've noticed many reticles for an FFP, seem to have a decent-great reticle for top end magnification, while barely being visible on the low end. The PA reticle seems to be very visible at all magnifications, again, based on pics.

Anyway, was hoping for some recommendations from folks that have done this kind of shooting. Some scopes that are current contenders are....