Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New(to me) PVS14 with black spots.

Feedback Score
    64 (98%)

New(to me) PVS14 with black spots.

A local shop gets these in from time to time from a guy that rebuilds them. I have been waiting a while and finally managed to snag one today for not even half the normal cost. I am aware that all tubes have some spots. And this one was more than inexpensive enough that I am not going to complain. But I would like some expert opinions on two things.

1: Are these spots mostly damage or does a lot of it look like debris?
    Some looks like debris to me but I am no expert.

2: If it is debris what is the best route to go about cleaning it up.

Tell my tale to those who ask. Tell it truly; the ill deeds along with the good, and let me be judged accordingly.

Feedback Score
    A better pic against a clean white wall would help more.

But going off of what you posted, some are definitely blems- good sized blems. And some could be trash- the technical term thereof being "debris in field" if you want to talk like a cool daddy NV guy LOL.

So PROBABLY the trash aka "debris in field" for you techie types is on the eyepiece lens. Let's hope it is cause that would be the easier fix.

Get yourself some good lens paper and some alcohol (like rubbing not Vodka)- some will argue strength of it matters, let's not get into the weeds too much here, let's just help him clean up his unit. And one more thing- worst case- a Q tip. Not IDEAL to use a q tip but you probably don't have anything else in the house.

The objective lens may or may not unscrew easily- holding the front of the unit with your right hand, use your left hand to turn the eyepiece lens counter clockwise. These can be set really tight. There is a special tool for this, but I don't honestly know what you would find that would duplicate it if you don't have it.