Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Saint victor pistol

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

Saint victor pistol

Caveat: I'm pretty new to AR pistols so I'm still learning.

So I was at my local range the other day that had a Saint Victor pistol, 5.56, with a 7.5 barrel for $869. That seems like a pretty good deal and I've been thinking about getting it to keep as a truck gun.

After doing a little research I've read that the 7.5 barrel will reduce the velocity of the 5.56 to nothing more potent than a handgun round.

I know it's not recommended to drop shorter than a 10.3 for 5.56 but could a 7.5 be that bad? Anyone have any experience with the Saint?

Thanks for the input.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    No experience with the Saint, but I will add a comment about the 7.5" barrel. Not only does such a short barrel produce suboptimal ballistics, but reliability and wear on the weapon are other issues of concern. Not to mention excessive blast and flash. Anything shorter that 10.3" should probably be avoided if at all possible.

Feedback Score
    88 (100%)
    Under 10.3 should be for something other than 5.56. I would not trust a SA AR to go that short and do it well. None of the major manufacturers (Colt, BCM, DD, SOLGW, Sionics, Geissele, LMT, KAC, Criterion) go under 10.3, some won't even go under 11.5. If that's not a clue, I don't know what is.

Triarc is the only one and not only do they do some things different, its still a longer barrel than what's on the SA pistol and IIRC, it was done specifically to fill a LE request and then they brought it to commercial market.

OP, what's the shortest AR you have experience with? I'm very happy with my MK18 but can't imagine going shorter in this platform.
    Last edited by Wake27; 12-23-21 at 11:00.
    Sic semper tyrannis.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)