Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 308 small rifle primer brass

Feedback Score

308 small rifle primer brass

I’ve been reloading 223 only for the last 12 years and never once stepped outside that caliber until now.
    I’ve been reloading about the last 3 years strictly for xtc matches and my powders have narrowed down to TAC, R15, and SWMR.
    I bought 100 pieces of small primer pocket Peterson 308 brass because I have plenty sr primers. 41, 400, 450, and ARmatch.
    So for anyone experienced with this, of those choices, what would be a good starting point as for as powder and primer combo.
    This will mainly be for hunting. Projectiles will be 150gr Barnes TSX and and Hornady 150gr interlock.
    I’ve decided to go the components first, optics second, and rifle last route so I don’t wind up short on reloading components or a cheap optic.
    Rifle will definitely be a bolt gun, but I’m still not sure what make.

Feedback Score
    What’s the rifle to be used for? Hunting?

On .308, I’d certainly be using a magnum primer—I’d likely start with 450s.

I’ve used both TAC and RL15. I found both to be acceptable in accuracy and velocity, though both a bit temperature sensitive.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by mRad View Post
    What’s the rifle to be used for? Hunting?

On .308, I’d certainly be using a magnum primer—I’d likely start with 450s.

I’ve used both TAC and RL15. I found both to be acceptable in accuracy and velocity, though both a bit temperature sensitive.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Mainly hunting and maybe a midrange match here and there. We(brother, myself, our sons, and our dad) are planning a guided antelope hunt in 2023 and I just want a nice kit to take with me. I will also be getting on a local hunting lease this spring.

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)