Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Taking a class with armor?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Taking a class with armor?

I am attending a two day rifle/pistol class in a few months. I own plates and a carrier and wad kinda throwing around the idea of wearing them in the class.

The goal of doing so would be to see if I need to make any adjustments to my setup. I was curious if others do this? And what were the reactions of the trainers?

I'm just a guy who is a firearms enthusiast and don't want to make a false impression that I'm a highly trained forces guy just based off what I wear.

Feedback Score
    There’s nothing wrong with it, especially if your mag pouches are on the carrier.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Feedback Score
    I think it’s a good idea, not just to check how your gear runs, but also to get used to wearing it for a period of time.

Feedback Score
    I say it depends on the class, your skill level, your athleticism, weather, and what you're trying to get out of the class.

What's the curriculum about? Is you being in armor going to slow down the class, whether it be due to fatigue or heat exhaustion? Will it take away from your ability to learn what you want from the class? If this is your first formal class, and you've little formal training, it may take away from your ability to learn about the raw shooting mechanics being taught in the class. Just things to consider; I've always run full kit in the few rifle classes I've taken, and have found a few small details on my kit I wanted to change. That being said, some good 2 gun matches can also show you issues in your kit, as would any structured training day with some more experienced folks.
    Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose.

老僧三十年前未參禪時、見山是山、見水是水、及至後夾親見知識、有箇入處、見山不是山、見水不是水、而今得箇體歇處、依然見山秪是山、見水秪是水。

https://www.instagram.com/defaultmp3/

Feedback Score
    9 (100%)