Page 1 of 26 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Am I the only one starting to prefer iron sights?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Am I the only one starting to prefer iron sights?

I've gotten to where I don't even bother turning on the aimpoint in the daytime. The only time I use it now is in low light, where it's too dark to see the sights very well, but still too bright to turn my nods on.

I'm wondering if a fiber front sight would make the aimpoint completely superfluous? I've never tried any fiber sights before, but if they're visible during the dawn and dusk hours, and on very cloudy days, I think I could see my way clear to just 86 my aimpoint altogether.

This wasn't really a conscious thing. I have fixed irons cowitnessed (mk18 mod 0 style), and I just kind of started forgetting to turn the dot on. I would be a few mags deep and then realize, Oh shit my aimpoint isn't even on. Then it got to where the only time I bothered turning it on was when it was dusk and the black front sight got hard to pick up against the black target steel (I'm lazy when it comes to repainting them).

So yea, that's where I'm at now. This happen to anyone else?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Shoot some drills on a timer both ways and get back to us.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Inkslinger View Post
    I actually don't own one. Been thinking about getting one.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    My eyesight isn't good so I need the red dot cowitnessed with irons.... Switching to an LPVO has helped a bit though

I am surprised you don't keep your Aimpoint in all the time.....that is really the benefit of its battery life.

Oh, I call dibs on your Aimpoint (depending on model) if you sell it...

Feedback Score
    I'm pretty sure that the actual timing data as well as my own experience dictates that a RDS is superior to irons for speed. That said, I have irons on every AR that I own.....ya never know what's gonna happen and tech stuff can fail (irons don't).