Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: LEO trauma kit donations or discounts?

Feedback Score

LEO trauma kit donations or discounts?

My Chief is unwilling to “pay $48 for some gauze, and that stuff expires” …. Essentially he’s unwilling to shell out for hemostatic gauze, chest seals and tourniquets to make trauma kits. He’s willing to let us use our own, but won’t replace it if we use it.

The arguments that can be made against this…. shortsightedness…. have been made, quite strongly, but the decision stands.

So.

Does anyone know if an organization willing or able to donate trauma kits or supplies to law enforcement?

Alternately, does anyone know where they can be bought at a significant discount?

I can teach a “stop the bleed” class but would like to have kits to hand out and explain, rather than teaching the class and telling them to go buy it themselves.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Very few people will see your post in here, I can move it to GD if you like.

You need a new chief or a new agency.
    This stuff is the standard of care/industry standard. If the picture you paint is accurate, your chief is deliberately indifferent and negligent.
    There are organizations that donate trauma kits, the names escape me. I'll think on it.
    Go to your local lions/vfw/am legion/etc and ask for donation/sponsorship for this purpose, offer gratuitous PR.
    Go to your emergency manager or state homeland security coordinator and ask how to apply for federal funds for this allocated to states. IFAKs are fundable.
    Go to your local hospital and ask what they might have to spare. There's usually an emergency management/liaison official in facilities.
    Go to your local mil/NG unit (esp a med company) and see if they have expired gear they are turning over. A unit de-mob'ing can be a good time.