Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cracked lower repair?

Feedback Score

Cracked lower repair?

I'm pretty new to ARs, so I wasn't aware that you're not supposed to let the hammer drop on a lower receiver when it's separated from the upper receiver. I had a Geissele trigger which has a stronger hammer spring and a cutout so that it contacts the receiver instead of the bolt catch. I let it drop a few times and I have a crack on my lower receiver now. I'm pretty bummed about this and since this is a Noveske lower, I want to know if it's salvageable. Since it's forged 7075 aluminum, I don't think it's weldable. Alternately, I wonder if something like epoxy would do the trick.
    Last edited by ta0117; 05-24-22 at 15:46.

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Got any pics of the damage?
    "What would a $2,000 Geissele Super Duty do that a $500 PSA door buster on Black Friday couldn't do?" - Stopsign32v

Feedback Score
    It's hard to capture on camera but on the forward wall of the receiver where the fire control group cutout is, there is a hairline crack near the left corner.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by ta0117 View Post
    I'm pretty new to ARs, so I wasn't aware that you're not supposed to let the hammer drop on a lower receiver when it's separated from the upper receiver. I had a Geissele trigger which has a stronger hammer spring and a cutout so that it contacts the receiver instead of the bolt catch. I let it drop a few times and I have a crack on my lower receiver now. I'm pretty bummed about this and since this is a Noveske lower, I want to know if it's salvageable. Since it's forged 7075 aluminum, I don't think it's weldable. Alternately, I wonder if something like epoxy would do the trick.
    7075 is not considered a weldable alloy . . .

Pics? It may just be a "don't do it again" kind'a thing.

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Does the bolt catch still move freely?