Thread: Thinking about becoming an electrician, any electricians out there?

Feedback Score
    41 (100%)

Thumbs down Thinking about becoming an electrician, any electricians out there?

I’m in my mid 40s, and I’ve been working as an auto technician for the last 15 years. I’m pretty burned out on the auto industry as a whole, and I’ve been thinking about starting over as an electrician. If you’re an electrician, what are your thoughts on someone my age starting as an apprentice? Any advice, encouragement would be appreciated. Thanks!

Feedback Score
    17 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hammer_Man View Post
    I’m in my mid 40s, and I’ve been working as an auto technician for the last 15 years. I’m pretty burned out on the auto industry as a whole, and I’ve been thinking about starting over as an electrician. If you’re an electrician, what are your thoughts on someone my age starting as an apprentice? Any advice, encouragement would be appreciated. Thanks!
    Not a licensed electrician, but I’ve worked closely with them as an industry SME my whole career. Despite what some here will say, I recommend finding a strong union and joining. One big thing to be aware of- if you start your apprenticeship from scratch, it is 5 years start to finish. The pay is low in the beginning, but it increases each year. Another major point- if there isn’t a strong union presence in your immediate area, you won’t have much local work. This means you travel to where the jobs are, or you will be on unemployment, as I understand it. Some one with more experience can weigh in.