Thread: IMI M193 Accuracy Over A Span Of 15 Years

Feedback Score

IMI M193 Accuracy Over A Span Of 15 Years

IMI M193 Accuracy Over A Span Of 15 Years

I started shooting M193 ammunition produced by Israel Military Industries (IMI) in the year 2000. At that point in time, IMI was still using their headstamp of “TZZ”. I first noticed the “IMI” headstamp on a 2002 lot of this ammunition.

Unfortunately, much of my early test data for IMI M193 was lost due to a tragic boating accident (hard drive crash actually), so the accuracy/precision data for this article will start with a lot from 2006.

The accuracy specification for M193 cited in MIL-C-9963F is as follows:

“The average of the mean radii of all targets of the sample cartridges, fired at 200 yards, shall not exceed 2.0 inches.”

These averages are from 10-shot groups fired from machine rested, bolt-actioned heavy test barrels. All things being equal, this specification equates to a mean radius of 1" at 100 yards. All testing for this article was conducted at a distance of 100 yards (verified with a laser range finder).

The accuracy (technically, precision) evaluations of the IMI M193 ammunition were performed following my usual protocol. These accuracy evaluations used statistically significant shot-group sizes and every single shot in a fired group was included in the measurements. There was absolutely no use of any Group Reduction Techniques (e.g. fliers, target movement, Butterfly Shots).