Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Brass trimming: how close is “exactly” the same length.

Feedback Score

Brass trimming: how close is “exactly” the same length.

Hello everyone,

I’m just getting started reloading and I’m trimming some 223 Remington brass. I intend to crimp these with a Lee FCD. I read on some forms that in order to get the crimp right the brass has to be trimmed to “exactly the same length”.

My question is what does “exactly the same length” mean? Being as precise as I can, the cases come out between 1.749 and 1.751. Most of them hover around 1.750. Is a piece of brass that is short or long by a thousandth OK?

I realize that this is overkill for 223 but when I start reloading for precision, I don’t think I’ll be able to be any more precise with the trimmer.

Thanks as always,

JRCII

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by jrcii View Post
    I read on some forms that in order to get the crimp right the brass has to be trimmed to “exactly the same length”.
    Complete nonsense. Uniformity is always desirable, but that statement is nuts. With the LEE FCD, the trim lengths specifically need not be the same. That's LEE's idea behind the die. I started using it years back because I never trimmed any .223 brass.

Now with a Taper crimp die, length variations will change the amount of crimp. I'd guess my trim variances to be +/- .002" because the Giraud trimmer indexes off the shoulder, and I shoot mixed brass without annealing.

If you're trimming back the really long necks and getting remotely consistent length, you're fine.
    Last edited by markm; 10-05-22 at 12:51.
    "What would a $2,000 Geissele Super Duty do that a $500 PSA door buster on Black Friday couldn't do?" - Stopsign32v

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Agree with Mark.

Where in your reloading process are you trimming and how are you trimming?

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by HKGuns View Post
    Agree with Mark.