Thread: So why are SiCo ASR mounts so disliked?

Feedback Score

So why are SiCo ASR mounts so disliked?

Don’t shoot the newb, I was all set to run Xeno mounts on everything.
    However, that’s a pain with Charlie threads and I got my Velos 3 months earlier than I expected.
    So I spun the ASR flash hider on so I could shoot suppressed.

Honestly, it seems pretty idiot proof to me but I have zero NFA experience.
    So what are the reasons ASR has such a bad rep? What am I missing?

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    The ASR is fine. I think the main issue with the SiCo mounts is that people try to screw the can onto the muzzle device too tightly and the tapers stick. It just needs to be snug, you don't need to torque the shit out of it. The older MAAD mount was really bad about sticking like this if overtightened.

I think some people also try to unscrew it by the can rather than by the lock ring which can result in unscrewing the can body from the mount. These are usually the same people that try to white-knuckle it onto the muzzle device, FWIW.

And then there are the folks that either forget to lock it once they've screwed it down or forget to unlock it before trying to screw it down. So...User error.

Toss a little bit of high temp anti-seize on the taper, tighten it just snug, ignore reddit, and you'll be fine. If it does arse up, SiCo will still be around next year to take care of you...We might not be able to say that about Dead Air.
    Last edited by kerplode; 02-05-24 at 10:16.

Feedback Score
    17 (100%)
    Nothing is wrong with them. I've been using them for years. I've never had a problem. They are relatively light and do not add much length compared to keymo. That difference is noticeable. They also lock up consistently. There is very little shift, and the shift that occurs is consistent.

Feedback Score
    17 (100%)
    Absolutely nothing.