Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 1911's

Feedback Score

1911's

Hey guys ive been kickin around the idea of buying my first handgun for the past few months. Im a broke college student so this is going to be my only handgun for a while. I was originally looking into getting a glock 20 but, every time i think of getting something else i always circle back to a 1911, i cant get away from it. 1911's are about as american as killin terrorists and apple pie. So, heres my question, what are some nice 1911's i can get for about 700 bucks? price cant exceed 800 bucks. Im looking for a reliable, accurate shtf 1911.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    If you are only going to have one handgun and don't have a lot of money to spend, a 1911 is probably not a good choice. A gun purchased at that price will likely need some work to run well enough to be depended on. What about getting an M&P 45 (similar grip angle, can be had with strong side safety) and then a 1911 later on when you have the bank account to support it?

ToddG Guest
    Suggest you do an exhaustive search of this forum. The issue of bargain 1911's comes up often and has been rehashed almost monthly.

Have a good idea in your mind of what you want the gun for: home defense, concealed carry, competition, plinking?

Feedback Score
    if i were to have to spend money on a $700 gun to make it run right then forget it, ill resort back to my old plan, but a heartless plastic pistol (glock or SW) I like the SW, i havent held one but they look nice, and their very affordable.

Feedback Score
    Todd, this said handgun would pretty much be an all of the above gun. Home defense, ccw, carbine/pistol course gun, some competition, weekly range plinker. Its going to be used heavily. Now for whatever its worth, im a 6'1" 176lb athlete, broad shoulders, large chest, so for ccw size doesent really matter.

ToddG Guest