Thread: 55gr vs 75gr in a 1:7

Feedback Score

55gr vs 75gr in a 1:7

i recently had my 6920 out to the range. i normally shoot 55gr prvi m193 because i have alot of it on hand. i stopped by the local shop and the only thing they had heavier than 55gr was some 75gr match prvi bthp.

at the range the 75gr groups were double what the 55gr were at 50yds. i didn't shoot any 55gr at 100yds, but the 75gr opened up at 100yds which was expected.

any thoughts on this? i was expecting the 75gr to do much better, and be a bit better than the 55gr out of the 1:7.

what does your 6920 prefer in a factory loading. i'm pretty new to this rifle, so any help is appreciated.

Feedback Score
    any help here?

Feedback Score
    im not really sure but sometimes, accuracy wise, barrels can be a little picky with ammunition... try some different brands.... i have an eotech on my rifle and, at 100yds, coveres up the whole head on a silhouette so its had for me to really guage precise accuracy... at 100 yds i can shot about 2-3moa with either 55gr or 75gr.... i would try some different brands of ammo though, different weights and see what it likes.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by castle View Post
    i recently had my 6920 out to the range. i normally shoot 55gr prvi m193 because i have alot of it on hand. i stopped by the local shop and the only thing they had heavier than 55gr was some 75gr match prvi bthp.

at the range the 75gr groups were double what the 55gr were at 50yds. i didn't shoot any 55gr at 100yds, but the 75gr opened up at 100yds which was expected.

any thoughts on this? i was expecting the 75gr to do much better, and be a bit better than the 55gr out of the 1:7.

what does your 6920 prefer in a factory loading. i'm pretty new to this rifle, so any help is appreciated.