Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 6.8 SPC Build

Feedback Score

6.8 SPC Build

So I have decided it is time to buid another AR and I figure since I am doing it why not in 6.8 SPC. So here comes the choice.

Barrel - I want something in 16" and probably 1x7.

Being I have never worked with this round before I don't have a clue what would be a good barrel for the rifle.

Any suggestions would be great. Thanks

Feedback Score

Might check Stag Arms

They were advertising that they were making a 6.8 and their 5.56 fit the discription you listed. Perhaps they sell the barrel by itself.

Semper Fi!

Feedback Score
    1-7 twist is too fast for 6.8SPC unless you are going to try and shoot the heaviest of heavy .270 bullets... But then your velocity will be in the 1500-2000fps range... 1-10 twist is fast enough... I'm not even sure they offer 1-7 for .270 caliber??? Most are using bullets in the 90-115gr. range with a few tinkering with 130gr. .270 bullets. Hornady was supposed to come out with a 120gr. bullet.
    "Take me boating or lose me forever..."

Feedback Score
    Twist rate for the 6.8 should be somewhere between 1/10 and 1/11. ABS, Douglas, and Noveske all make fine 6.8 barrels. Midlength gasport position works best for the 16".

What muzzle device you plan on using will determine what thread you'll want to go with.

Feedback Score
    I have not determined what muzzle device I am going to use yet because I haven't finalized the budget on this one yet. Anything you want to add to help me decide is great. Thanks

Feedback Score
    Honestly, there are a lot of choices.

In 1/2x28 you have the Troy Medieval, the Surefire FA68A Suppressor Adaptor, and you can have pretty much any other FH reamed out to work.

In the mil thread you've got the .308 Phantom and Vortex, the Surefire FH762S Suppressor Adapter, and scores of others.

Feedback Score