Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Build Questions

Feedback Score

First Build Questions

As I think I mentioned in my first post, I'm new to the AR15 world and will be doing my first build something in the near future.

I wanted to go ahead and get some questions out of the way while I'm still in the planning phase:

First and foremost, how much? How much should I look to spend to build the rifle itself working with just iron sights?

Who's upper, who's lower offer the best reliability and price?

And, the last one I have at this moment; where's the best place to get a fair price and quality customer service on most of the gear?

I snagged this picture from a member on AR15.com, this is not my rifle, nor my picture, I'm using it to demonstrate the look I want to achieve. Instead of Olive, I'd prefer Coyote or Black.

USMC and Wulf50guy have rifles I find appealing; I'm not attempting to copy any of these, but I felt this was the best way to express what my interest was so someone could help me better answer my questions.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I bought a Superior Arms stripped lower for $110.00 I put it together wih Bushmaster parts. Everything went together easily. Parts were appx. $60.00

I would buy a already completed upper. Lots of sources. Buy a copy of the Shotgun News and see what's available. I paid a bit more an used Adco Arms to build me an upper. It ran around $500.00. You can certainly find lower from company's like Model 1 Sales.

For accs. I use Bravo Company USA. He's a real nice guy who ships same day. He sells only good quality stuff.

Good luck with your build!!

Feedback Score
    Buy once, cry once.

My first recommendation is do not buy a complete rifle. Get a lower, w/o a buttstock (since you'll probably replace it) or one that comes with the exact stock you want, or do as Mauser mentioned above.