Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whats your Red Dot Zero? 25-50-100 yrds?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)

Whats your Red Dot Zero? 25-50-100 yrds?

I have two sight aiming systems. The ACOG with Doc on top. On that rig I have the crosshairs zero at 100yrds, and the red dot at 25yrds. The Red dot is 8moa, so its pretty much built by design to CQC.

My Aimpoint M4's is zero at 100 yards. When I was practicing drills last weekend, my POI was low at 25 yard shots. I knew this would be the case.

Two questions:
    what is your Red Dot Zero, & why?
    If you sight in at 100 yards, what is the trajectory supposed to be at 25-50-75 yards. I will shoot it soon enough at the range, but thought you experts could shed lmore light. As always, thanks!

Feedback Score
    i'm no expert....i'll give my opinion anyway tho, cos i have nothing better to do

in the Army they have you zero at 25 meters, because the 25m zero is the same as the 300m zero. at 50, 100, 150, etc you will be holding low to put rounds on target. how much you hold depends on the range in question.

i zero my red dots at 100.

up close, if my life is in danger, i'm going to zip the threat up with multiple rounds and an inch here or there wont make a big of a difference if i'm aiming for upper center mass.
    Last edited by Parabellum9x19mm; 07-20-09 at 19:11.
    TUEBOR

Feedback Score
    Assuming its a 16inch barrel, with average sight over bore height (for an AR15), and pushing approx 3100fps with a 55grain projectile:

Here are the paths for a 25,50,100 yard zero, choose which one is more applicable to your use and go for it:

Red = 25 Yard Zero_____________________Green = 50 Yard Zero____________________Blue = 100 Yard Zero

Last edited by Derek_Connor; 07-21-09 at 15:23.

Feedback Score

what ''0'' is best ?

Quote Originally Posted by Derek_Connor View Post