Thread: TT HEV and the like for uniformed LE patrol

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

TT HEV and the like for uniformed LE patrol

I've done a lot of reading on here about chest rigs and plate carriers. It seems like many users of the TT HEV or Eagle plate carrier with cummerbund (and the like) are plain clothes officers/investigators/field agents.

I'm a uniformed patrol officer and obviously my primary body armor is under my uniform. I don't have the luxury of taking the soft armor off during an incident and stuffing them in the carrier vest. I could go with a standard chest rig setup for simplicity but I want more of the "vest" type design.

I plan on upgrading the level of my concealable vest to a IIIA. With that said, how sturdy would the HEV or the like be without armor stuffed in them?
    Remember, this is going over my vest, shirt, badge, etc..
    Last edited by 021411; 07-30-09 at 23:02.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by 021411 View Post
    I've done a lot of reading on here about chest rigs and plate carriers. It seems like many users of the TT HEV or Eagle plate carrier with cummerbund (and the like) are plain clothes officers/investigators/field agents.

I'm a uniformed patrol officer and obviously my primary body armor is under my uniform. I don't have the luxury of taking the soft armor off during an incident and stuffing them in the carrier vest. I could go with a standard chest rig setup for simplicity but I want more of the "vest" type design.

I plan on upgrading the level of my concealable vest to a IIIA. With that said, how sturdy would the HEV or the like be without armor stuffed in them?
    Remember, this is going over my vest, shirt, badge, etc..
    The Eagle, the TT and the Mayflower Assault Carrier should all work fine without the soft armor. The soft armor does give the carrier a bit more substance, but should work fine either way.