Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IDPA?

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)

IDPA?

I have been invited to join and shoot with a local IDPA club. This will provide me a place to shoot ( hard to find here) and also get to shoot with people that are probably a lot better than me. Can anybody give me any advice on what to do or haow to do it or is there some reason why I should not do it? I have plenty of experience shooting various forms of weapons, but I have never shot "official" competition before.

Thanks

Feedback Score
    make sure you have a working understanding of the rules.
    www.idpa.com

keep the muzzle in a safe direction while moving (if you are not shooting) and
    don't "over-think" the tactics for the stage.
    the will to win is nothing without the will to prepare.

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    If it is like most IDPA clubs, they will have their own ways of dealing with "new shooters" (which means people new to shooting IDPA, not necessarily new to shooting entirely, so this would include you).

pistol
    belt
    holster (quality holster, no soft-sided nylon)
    double mag pouch (or two singles)
    3 magazines (at least)
    ammo (200 rounds should be more than plenty)
    good attitude
    ability to listen

If every new shooter showed up at our IDPA matches with the above we would be very, very, very happy.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by rob_s View Post

If every new shooter showed up at our IDPA matches with the above we would be very, very, very happy.
    I agree wholeheartedly, make sure you have decent gear and know how to use it.

Don't work yourself up worrying about doing well or winning. Just go, relax, follow directions, and hit your targets.

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)