Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: FN SCAR Range Report

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

FN SCAR Range Report

Took my New SCAR out to the range today.

I'm not a professional shooter, but I thought I would write up a quick 'first impressions' report of shooting a SCAR:

Fired about 30 rounds of Fiocchi .223 REM sinter rounds at 25 yards, then about 20 rounds of .223 PMC.

Impression:

1.) Recoil was very soft. Not sure if it was due to the PWS-556 flashhider or the mechanism of the rifle. I was able to make quick follow-up shots to on the target. I was also able to comfortably fire the weapon with the stock folded, but not very accurately.

2.) The weapon became hot very quickly, but I fired the weapon above the sustained rate of fire for about 30 rounds. When the weapon emptied, there was smoke coming from handguard vents. At one point, the folding front sight was almost too hot to deploy.

3.) The stock iron sights are extremely high above bore axis. Even at at 25 yards, the weapon was shooting about 6" low on the irons.

4.) I rapid fired the weapon for six rounds, doing double-taps and compared it to my 16" RRA:

SCAR

RRA AR-15

Again, the SCAR was much easier to keep on target, but not sure if that was due to the weapon design or the compensator.

5.) The reciprocating charging handle is a major flaw in the design. I trained mostly on an AR-15 rifle, so when I held the weapon by the magwell I had a high-thumb grip, the reciprocating handle will hit my thumb. Not only was this slightly painful, but the weapon would fail to load another round.

All in all, the SCAR is a well thought out design. Ambidextrous selector, manipulatable charging handle, flip up sights, monolithic receiver with continuous top rail, and folding stock. However, I would rather run with a gas piston AR for the time being.
    Last edited by Kchen986; 10-24-09 at 10:43.

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    Did you experience any difference in accuracy when you got the rifle hot?