Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1911

Feedback Score

Long time lurker here, first time posting. I love the site, and have found it to be very informative. I see there are alot of very knowledgable people here, so I thought I would ask my question here.

I am looking to buy a 1911 soon. I am a 1911 newbie, don't know much about them. I am looking for something under 1000 bucks and wanted to get the opinion of others, other than the gunshop. I just want something to shoot the heck out of, nothing fancy. I appreciate all responses and opinions, thanks.

Levi

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    For the money, not knowing exactly what you want, I think the Springfield MC Operator is the best value in 1911s. One of my shooting partners payed $940 for his. It's a lot of gun for the money

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    You may be able to find a Kimber Warrior used for under $1k.

It would help us make recomendations though if you gave us more information about what you want the pistol for. Target shooting? Defense? Competition? Collectible? Etc.

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    yeah, need your specs and needs...also if you dont mind used or not...

for example, I just bought a Les Baer stinger from the original owner (i know this because he put it back on consignment at the store he bought it from) for $1100...the store owner is a guy I have known for a while and trust and the gun is immaculate....honestly I had a hard time telling it was "used"....brand new the gun, well...it isnt $1100...

if you are willing to look for "deals" and accept a used gun you can get, IMO, a lot more gun used for what you could new...

Also, IMO, a gun is like a car, in that it devalues the second you shoot it...so if you know you are getting a good one, is firing that first shot yourself that important (especially if you are getting from a company or smith you know stands behind their work)

anyway, just my thoughts...

Feedback Score