Thread: Stalled progress on transition from beginner to intermediate shooting skills

Feedback Score

Question Stalled progress on transition from beginner to intermediate shooting skills

When I first started shooting, it wasn't hard to figure out how to spend my time at the range. I took a first steps pistol class before I even fired a single shot and learned the basics. Then I headed to the range as often as I could and just shot a whole bunch while constantly keeping track of my fundamentals. "Focusing on front sight? Check. Slow & smooth trigger pull? Check." and so forth.

This early part of my learning process seemed pretty successful, as I was satisfied with my initial accuracy and the rate at which I saw it improvement in the early months.

I've been shooting for about 10 months now and the problem I'm having lately is that my range time, while enjoyable, doesn't seem as productive as it once was. I feel sort of stagnet in terms of improvement when shooting at my usual range & speed (7-12 yards, 40-60 rds/min).

Under those parameters, I'm pretty consistantly managing to keep each shot of a 15 rd magazine within a fist sized group that usually includes one or two 3-5 shot strings tied into a single ragged hole.

Thing is, I've been shooting the same fist sized holes for months and they don't seem to be shrinking any.

Also, I'm shooting much poorer groups anytime I try to switch things up & shoot a bit faster or shoot a target further away or throw in a random element like having my partner call out a target instead of selecting it myself.

Even though I do not carry a firearm for duty and my shooting is likely to always be recreational in nature, my long term goals include the ability to shoot defensively at a high level because I want to be prepared if I'm ever put in the awful position of needing to use deadly force to protect the lives of my loved ones or myself.