Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My DMPS LR308 experience

Feedback Score

My DMPS LR308 experience

I purchased a base model LR308 with the 24 inch stainless barrel. Y'all know the one I'm talking about. (pics coming soon). It was unable to fire more than 3 rounds without a feeding issue of some sort. So, I hand fed it for break in.

After getting home, I studied the feeding. I discovered that the brass was hitting on the feed ramp edges. They were sharp and protruded into the feed path. This resulted in 2 dents in the taper of the brass. I also found that the aft rib in the steel 19 round mags would catch the rim on the brass and force it to feed unevenly.

So, I took my trusty die grinder to the feed ramps and carefully removed the sharp edges, without removing much material. (I'm an ex machinist and capable of high precision work) The next range session was much the same. 2 dents in the round, but they were smaller and smoother!

I then removed about 0.040 inches from the edges of the feed ramps, and this solved the problem. I polished it nicely and ensured the contour was symmetrical and even. It looks very professional.

The magazines were another story. I ended up removing material on the aft ribs of the mags, about 0.020 inches. Right where the brass rides. This prevents the aft rib from catching the round as it feeds.

Bottom line: It runs just fine now and it's my most favorite gun. However, the trigger is still poor and creepy, even after some careful re-work. It's more accurate than I'll ever be, with 1 inch groups possible at 200 yards using FGMM 168g.

Feedback Score
    Nice work getting it to run. However, it is unacceptable for it to have left the factory in that condition.

Feedback Score