Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: "Help with custom build"

Feedback Score
    12 (100%)

"Help with custom build"

I am new to the ar15 platform and was looking to build my own EBG. I was going to start with either a zombie defense lower or spikes tactical. I live in MD so per the jerks at the state house, my barrel can't shorter than 16" (in my whinny voice) I've seen several custom build on the forum and I must say, WOW!!! I was like a kid in a candy store. Could any of you guys be of any assistance to a AR virgin?

Feedback Score
    18 (100%)
    Just about any lower will do, so get one which appeals to you, whether it appeals to you because of the name on the side or because of it's shape. There are quite a few interesting billet lowers out there. For some samples, go to gunbroker.com and type in "billet lower".

Next get a QUALITY lower parts kit. GandRtactical.com will tailor a quality lower parts kit to your particular desires. Get a milspec buffer tube, spring and an H buffer. Select an endplate (Daniel Defense and Noveske endplates are nice).

ok, that's enough for now.

Feedback Score
    Here's the build I'm working on now
    Take your time, search and research, do your homework and build something to be proud of.
    I got a BCM 16" middy barrel in today, next up will be the handguard.

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    what exactly do you need help with? lower? upper? suggestions for quality 16" barrels? etc?

is your muzzle device required to be pinned- i.e., no threaded barrels?

if you're required to be pinned, you might as well go 14.5 if you're looking for an M4esque gun. then you have an extended muzzle device pinned to it, bringing your total barrel length to 16" or over