Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 20'' or 25'' Axe?

Feedback Score

20'' or 25'' Axe?

I am getting ready to buy an Wetterlings axe. The axe will be used for camping and some canoeing. Mostly for cutting and splitting fire wood. Not much chopping of live trees. It will be carried in my pickup truck. A basic general purpose camp axe.

Will 20'' be enough? Or should I go with the 25"?

Feedback Score
    Unless you are very short, the 25" will be safer and easier on your back. If you have room for it, that's what I'd get.

I have an addiction to Gransfors-Bruks axes. It's almost as bad as black rifle disease. I do have one Wetterlings axe and have nothing bad to say about it.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I am no Axe expert by any means, but I use an Estwing as my behind-the-seat axe.
    http://www.knifecenter.com/kc_new/st...il.html?s=E45A

As far a size, I would definitely go with the 25" for a general purpose axe.
    Praise be to the LORD my Rock, who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle. Psalm 144:1

Owner of MI-TAC, LLC .

@MichiganTactical

Feedback Score
    I have the 20" Wetterlings. Its great because it can be used for smaller tasks as well as larger and its cheaper than G.B.
    BTW, Gransfors-Bruks bought S.A.Wetterlings quite a while ago, so they are virtually the same axe.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by huklbrry View Post
    I have the 20" Wetterlings. Its great because it can be used for smaller tasks as well as larger and its cheaper than G.B.
    BTW, Gransfors-Bruks bought S.A.Wetterlings quite a while ago, so they are virtually the same axe.
    I understand GB bought Wetterling but they are both two separate operations. I think I will go with the 25".

Thanks for all the input.

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    Short axes scare the crap out of me. I've seen too many seasoned and expereinced users short stroke...the result being a close call or a crash course in sutures.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)