Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: best .223 ammo for my AR-15

Feedback Score

best .223 ammo for my AR-15

I'm new to shooting a AR-15 rifle and needing little help. I just got my new DPMS AR-15 rifle. I hand it for about two weeks now and not a single round thur it. Has a 16" barrel and 1and 9 twist. I'm plaining on playing around up to 200 yards right now. Once I get some more money looking about butting a scope on it and shooting longer range. So I'm just wondering what is the best grain weight for it and brand to shoot thur it. From the cheapest and to the highest. Just wondering wanting to buy a case and not wanting to buy something thats not going to fire will and jam up on me and thanks for you help.

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    start with cheap bulk ammo.. learn to shoot it. then you'll know where to go from there..

good bulk brass-
    federal AE xm193 (apparently on sale for $60/200 at bi-mart right now, if you have those)
    winchester q3131
    wolf 55gr. FMJ
    anything else you can find

nothing will hurt your gun, and you won't be able to out-shoot any of this stuff any time soon.

ETA- on second though, DPMS is notorious for having tight chambers- in light of that, i'd either steer clear of steel-cased ammo (like wolf) or expect to learn to do some stuck-case extraction drills.
    Last edited by bkb0000; 12-14-10 at 22:04.

Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Any bullet weight up to 69gr with a 1/9 any heavier and you may have issues with bullets not stabilizing. Check out the PMC ammo on cabelas or Palmetto State Armory.
    B.A.S. Mechanical Engineering Technology

Feedback Score
    I was told 60 and up would have a hard time stabilizing with a 1 and 9 twist and was just wondering if thats right or not. So thats what I'm trying to find out what is a good round to shoot

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by bkb0000 View Post
    federal AE xm193 (apparently on sale for $60/200 at bi-mart right now, if you have those)