Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Crossfit...dont get it...

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

Crossfit...dont get it...

Yep i dont get the whole crossfit craze. I have a degree in Sports/Fitness so i know a little about what i'm talking about when it comes to exercise prescription/programs.

I still cant understand why anyone would want to short change themselves by doing crossfit. Why wouldnt you want to have a resistance program and a cardiovascular program (done seperately in order to get the most out of each program). To me it does not make any sense to combine the two, into one 20 min workout.

Honestly i believe its a fad more than anything (same goes for kettlebells, which i hate).

The ONLY upside to a crossfit workout is if you are strapped for time. Other than that, i dont get it.

p.s. hopefully this doesnt get me banned, since apparently "crossfitters" get pissed and ban people when it isnt celebrated.
    Last edited by J-Dub; 02-06-11 at 20:07.

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    No worries on the ban bro.

I'm not a full time cross fitter, but why train one muscle group at a time, when you rarely use them as such? People train with traditional training basically bc Joe Wieder said so. Ive worked with guys who are superstars in the gym, but can't jump over a canal or fly thru a o-course.

Im not old or wise, but it seems groups wiill taylor their eating habits and workouts to personal preference and natural ability. People who dont like milk will say" humans wernt made to drink it, we the only animal that drinks another's milk blah blah" soo these people go with a paleo diet. Same with workouts. Guys who are built like bears and not jaguars will gravitate towards the weight room, while guys who more resemble (or want to) a mens health cover bro, will do muscle ups and smash big tires with sledges.

But to address your post, how is crossfit wrong and what hard evidence do you have?