Thread: .260rem and 6.5 creedmore in the MWS

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

.260rem and 6.5 creedmore in the MWS

I have long time been a fan of the .308 round, until I started handloading and reading up on other calibers.

I see the MWS is supposed to get 6.5 creedmore and .260rem barrels this summer that I was thinking of trying one of them out. However, I have zero experience with anything other than .223 and .308. The max range I can regularly shoot is 700yds.

Would I see any advantage by trying one of these other calibers? If so, What should I expect? I handload and have read that handloading is almost required to shoot either of those calibers.

2x per year there is a 1400yd shoot I have been trying to attend for 2years but it is always full by the time I hear about it. Would either of these calibers get me to 1k plus with any consistency?
    Last edited by m1ajunkie; 03-21-11 at 18:56.

Feedback Score
    41 (98%)
    The advantage over 308 is 6.5 rounds have a lot better BC so you get much less wind deflection and drop.

There are factory rounds for both but nowhere near the selection as 308. Hand loading would probably be a good idea for both rounds.

Feedback Score
    19 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Belmont31R View Post
    The advantage over 308 is 6.5 rounds have a lot better BC so you get much less wind deflection and drop.

There are factory rounds for both but nowhere near the selection as 308. Hand loading would probably be a good idea for both rounds.
    The SD is higher to which only realy matters for hunters I suppose.

As far as bullets go if punching paper I would go with the 123g SMK. Also you should expect great things from the combination. Did they give any indication as to barrel length? The wind bucking abilty and the increased speed are the two buggest positives.
    Last edited by ICANHITHIMMAN; 03-21-11 at 22:02.

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)